arrow back
back 

Visite of Charlotte Perroux and Yoann Lemoine, alumni


Conferences, School, Uncategorized . 01 Apr. 2019
Nantes

During a visit to Nantes, two alumni – Charlotte Perroux and Yoann Lemoine – gave a meeting on their new life as young professionals in the animation film industry.

There are visits that are fun, such as Charlotte Perroux and Yoann Lemoine! It is always with joy that we welcome our former students, especially when they come with the desire to transmit to the future generation their experience in school and their first steps as animation professionals.

It is with the students of Entertainment Prepatory Class and the first years of training CG Animation & FX that they gave a meeting on their course since they left the school. The opportunity for these young professionals to discuss the reality of the profession and the life in the studio. For students, it is always beneficial to hear these feedback from elders. These moments are rich and deliver concrete about the possibilities that will be offered to students at the end of their training.

What also makes these exchanges valuable is that these former students remember their questions and concerns at this time of their lives, and they know how to find the right words to reassure and the youngest counselors.

Charlotte Perroux

Two weeks after leaving school, Charlotte applied for MPC Montréal Animation Academy. To his surprise his candidacy was retained! That’s how she flew to Canada. Upon arrival, a three-month training followed to be trained in the working methods of the studio. Then she went into the thick of it by working on big productions: Aquaman, Sonic the Hedgehog, then Pokemon Detective Pikachu. The stakes were no longer those of a student film and she told us about it:

These films have required a lot of research on characters, not always easy to animate. Do not get bogged down when you face a problem, want to solve it yourself, but tell your team. Communication is paramount, as is teamwork.

Charlotte does not forget the opportunity it has been for her:

What is good with MPC is that they are almost the only ones to hire juniors, which allows to have a good professional experience, and to work on big productions.

Yoann Lemoine

Like his colleague, Yoann set his bags in Canada. He also joined studio MPC but in the city of Vancouver. Having three months before starting his contract, he took advantage of this time available to rally the teams of the Parisian studio TeamTo as FX artist. As he says:

It was not possible for me to stay idle while so quickly put into practice my expertise!

He worked on the animated series Pajamasque and a series of Netflix: Skylanders Academy. After this experience, he finally arrived in the land of the maple leaf. There, Yoann will put his talent to work on several major productions: Aquaman and Pokemon Detective Pikachu. One time he will join the Montreal studio as an FX artist on the X-MEN Dark Phoenix project.

Now the young man is looking for new challenges and is thinking of traveling the world to practice in various international studios.

les intervenants

Charlotte Perroux and Yoann Lemoine are both from the class of 2017. They followed the course Cinema Animation 3D & special effects at ESMA Nantes.

Charlotte has worked on the short film Achoo, which has been very successful at many world festivals (including an additional list of the Oscar Nominated Short Films program) and has won several awards.

Read her interview.

For his part, Yoann has participated in the realization of the short film Groovity which has had some success with several selections in festivals (including the SSFF & Asia Festival, one of the largest film festivals in Asia)

movies

ACHOO

GROOVITY

arrow back
retour 

Visite de Charlotte Perroux et Yoann Lemoine, anciens étudiants


Actualités . 01 Avr. 2019
Nantes

Lors  de leur passage en région nantaise, deux anciens étudiants – Charlotte Perroux et Yoann Lemoine – ont tenu une conférence sur leur nouvelle vie de jeune professionnels du secteur du cinéma d’animation.

Il y a des visites qui font plaisirs, comme celle de Charlotte Perroux et de Yoann Lemoine ! C’est toujours avec joie que nous accueillons nos anciens étudiants, surtout quand ils viennent avec pour volonté de transmettre à la future génération leur vécu à l’école et leurs premiers pas en tant que professionnels de l’animation.

C’est auprès des élèves de Prépa Intertainement et des 1res années de cycle Cinéma d’Animation 3D & Effets Spéciaux qu’ils ont tenu leur conférence portant sur leur parcours depuis leur sortie de l’école. L’occasion pour ces jeunes professionnels d’échanger sur la réalité du métier et sur la vie en studio. Pour les étudiants il est toujours bénéfique d’entendre ces retours d’expérience provenant d’anciens. Ces moments sont riches et livrent du concret sur les possibilités qui s’offriront aux étudiants à la fin de leur formation.

Ce qui rend aussi ces échanges précieux, c’est que ces anciens étudiants se souviennent de leurs questionnements et de leurs inquiétudes à cette période de leur vie, et ils savent trouver les mots justes pour rassurer et conseillers les plus jeunes.

 

Charlotte Perroux

Deux semaines après sa sortie de l’école, Charlotte a postulé auprès du studio MPC Montréal Animation Academy. A sa grande surprise sa candidature a été retenue ! C’est ainsi qu’elle s’est envolée direction le Canada. A son arrivée, une formation de trois mois s’en est suivie afin d’être formée aux méthodes de travail du studio. Ensuite elle est entrée dans le vif du sujet en travaillant sur des grosses productions : Aquaman, Sonic the Hedgehog, puis sur Pokémon Detective Pikachu. Les enjeux n’étaient plus ceux d’un film étudiant et elle nous confiait à ce sujet :

Ces films ont nécessité un gros travail de recherche sur des personnages, pas toujours facile à animer. Il ne faut pas s’enliser quand on fait face à un problème, vouloir à tout prix le résoudre soi-même, mais en faire part à son équipe. La communication est primordiale, tout comme le travail d’équipe.

Charlotte n’oublie pas l’opportunité que cela a été pour elle :

Ce qui est bien avec MPC, c’est que ce sont quasiment les seuls à engager des juniors, ce qui permet d’avoir une bonne expérience professionnelle, et de travailler sur des grosses productions.

 

Yoann Lemoine

Tout comme sa comparse, c’est au Canada que Yoann posa ses valises. Il rejoignit lui aussi le studio MPC mais dans la ville de Vancouver. Disposant de trois mois avant de débuter son contrat, il profita de ce temps disponible pour rallier les équipes du studio parisien TeamTo en tant que FX artist. Comme il le dit :

Il n’était pas envisageable pour moi de rester sans rien faire alors autant mettre rapidement en pratique mon savoir-faire !

Il travailla sur la série animée Pyjamasque et une série de Netflix : Skylanders Academy. Après cette expérience, il arriva enfin au pays de la feuille d’érable. Là-bas, Yoann mettra son talent à l’œuvre sur plusieurs grosses productions : Aquaman et Pokémon Detective Pikachu. Un temps il rejoindra le studio de Montréal en tant que FX artist sur le projet X-MEN Dark Phoenix.

A présent le jeune homme est à la recherche de nouveaux challenges et songe à parcourir le monde pour exercer au sein de différents studios internationaux.

les intervenants

Charlotte Perroux et Yoann Lemoine sont tous deux issus de la promotion 2017. Ils ont suivit le cursus Cinéma d’Animation 3D & effets Spéciaux à l’ESMA de Nantes.

Charlotte a travaillé sur le court-métrage Achoo, qui connu un vif succès auprès de nombreux festivals mondiaux (dont une sélection en liste additionnelle du programme « Oscars Nominated Short Films ») et auréolé de plusieurs récompenses.

Découvrez son portrait.

De son côté, Yoann a lui participé à la réalisation du court-métrage Groovity qui connu un certain succès avec plusieurs sélections dans des festivals (dont le SSFF&Asia Festival, l’un des plus grands festivals de courts-métrage d’Asie).

Les films

ACHOO

GROOVITY